clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brandon Crawford and Mike Yastrzemski named Gold Glove finalists

The Giants are looking for their first Gold Glove winner since 2017.

Division Series - Los Angeles Dodgers v San Francisco Giants - Game Five Photo by Lachlan Cunningham/MLB Photos via Getty Images

Award season is starting to get underway, and the San Francisco Giants have two Gold Glove finalists: shortstop Brandon Crawford and right fielder Mike Yastrzemski.

Three finalists from each league, and at every position were announced on Thursday for the 2021 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, with the winners announced on Sunday, Nov. 7. The Giants are hoping for their first Gold Glove since 2017, when Crawford took home the award for the third straight year.

If both Crawford and Yaz win, it will be the team’s first time with multiple winners in a year since 2016, when the trio of Crawford, Buster Posey, and Joe Panik all won the award at their positions.

If Crawford wins the award, it will be the fourth in his illustrious career. If Yaz wins, it will be some nice redemption after a difficult offensive season, and hopefully help make up for the pandemic costing him the opportunity to make the All-Star team for the first time in 2020.

I’m guessing many Giants fans will be upset at the lack of Buster Posey.

Here’s the full list of Gold Glove Award finalists:


National League
Yadier Molina (St. Louis Cardinals)
J.T. Realmuto (Philadelphia Phillies)
Jacob Stallings (Pittsburgh Pirates)

American League
Martín Maldonado (Houston Astros)
Sean Murphy (Oakland A’s)
Salvador Perez (Kansas City Royals)

First base

National League
Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves)
Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals)
Max Muncy (Los Angeles Dodgers)

American League
Yuli Gurriel (Houston Astros)
Matt Olson (Oakland A’s)
Jared Walsh (Los Angeles Angels)

Second base

National League
Ozzie Albies (Atlanta Braves)
Tommy Edman (St. Louis Cardinals)
Kolten Wong (Milwaukee Brewers)

American League
David Fletcher (Los Angeles Angels)
Whit Merrifield (Kansas City Royals)
Marcus Semien (Toronto Blue Jays)

Third base

National League
Nolan Arenado (St. Louis Cardinals)
Manny Machado (San Diego Padres)
Ryan McMahon (Colorado Rockies)

American League
Matt Chapman (Oakland A’s)
José Ramírez (Cleveland)
Joey Wendle (Tampa Bay Rays)


National League
Brandon Crawford (San Francisco Giants)
Francisco Lindor (New York Mets)
Kevin Newman (Pittsburgh Pirates)

American League
Carlos Correa (Houston Astros)
J.P. Crawford (Seattle Mariners)
Andrelton Simmons (Minnesota Twins)

Left field

National League
Tyler O’Neill (St. Louis Cardinals)
David Peralta (Arizona Diamondbacks)
AJ Pollock (Los Angeles Dodgers)

American League
Randy Arozarena (Tampa Bay Rays)
Andrew Benintendi (Kansas City Royals)
Lourdes Gurriel Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays)

Right field

National League
Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Adam Duvall (Atlanta Braves)
Mike Yastrzemksi (San Francisco Giants)

American League
Hunter Renfroe (Boston Red Sox)
Kyle Tucker (Houston Astros)
Joey Gallo (New York Yankees)

Center Field

National League
Harrison Bader (St. Louis Cardinals)
Bryan Reynolds (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Jackie Bradley Jr. (Milwaukee Brewers)

American League
Kevin Kiermaier (Tampa Bay Rays)
Myles Straw (Cleveland)
Michael A. Taylor (Kansas City Royals)


National League
Zach Davies (Chicago Cubs)
Max Fried (Atlanta Braves)
Zack Wheeler (Philadelphia Phillies)

American League
José Berríos (Toronto Blue Jays)
Zack Greinke (Houston Astros)
Dallas Keuchel (Chicago White Sox)