clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2021 Willie McCovey Memorial Community Prospect List No. 22

Who is the 22nd-best prospect in the Giants farm?

Derrick Tuskan/San Diego State

The results from the 21st iteration of the 2021 Willie McCovey Memorial Community Prospect List are in the books, and we have our fourth member of the 2020 draft class making an appearance. Third baseman and occasional relief pitcher Casey Schmitt has been named the No. 21 prospect in the San Francisco Giants system.

Schmitt was a second-round pick in June, and the second pick for the Giants in the draft, though he falls below left-handed pitchers Nick Swiney and Kyle Harrison, who were both drafted after he was. With a semi-normal Minor League season in 2021 — knock on wood — we’ll get to see Schmitt get some developmental time, and possibly rise on the list.

Now let’s get to No. 22. It’s also nomination day, so be sure to leave a comment nominating players for Wednesday’s CPL, and recommend the player you want to see on the next list.

The list so far

  1. Marco Luciano
  2. Joey Bart
  3. Heliot Ramos
  4. Hunter Bishop
  5. Luis Matos
  6. Seth Corry
  7. Alexander Canario
  8. Patrick Bailey
  9. Kyle Harrison
  10. Will Wilson
  11. Sean Hjelle
  12. Luis Toribio
  13. Tristan Beck
  14. Jairo Pomares
  15. Gregory Santos
  16. Camilo Doval
  17. Nick Swiney
  18. Kai-Wei Teng
  19. Logan Wyatt
  20. Jaylin Davis
  21. Casey Schmitt

Note: Clicking on the above names will link to the CPL where they were voted onto the list.

Let’s add No. 22.

#21 prospect nominees

Aeverson Arteaga
Grant McCray
Trevor McDonald
Blake Rivera

Note: When available, each player’s first name links to their Baseball-Reference page, and their last name links to their Fangraphs page.


Who is the No. 22 prospect in the Giants system?

This poll is closed

  • 12%
    Aeverson Arteaga
    (36 votes)
  • 17%
    Grant McCray
    (53 votes)
  • 24%
    Trevor McDonald
    (73 votes)
  • 45%
    Blake Rivera
    (137 votes)
299 votes total Vote Now

Remember to leave and recommend nominations in the comments!