clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tuesday BP: Vote for the Willie Mac Award

It’s election season.

San Francisco Giants Matt Duffy (5), left, and Willie McCovey get their photo taken together after Duffy won the annual Willie Mac Award before the start of the Giants baseball game at AT&T Park in San Francisco, Calif., on Friday, Nov. 2, 2015. (Doug Dur Photo by MediaNews Group/Bay Area News via Getty Images

Hello and happy Tuesday.

You can now vote for who you think should win the Willie Mac Award, the annual San Francisco Giants award given to the player who most embodies the tremendous spirit of the great Willie McCovey.

Fans have a relatively small say on the award, as players, coaches, and training staff all get votes as well. But it’s still fun to make your voice heard.

Voting is important, he says while eyeing the calendar and wondering if anything notable is happening in a month and a half.

Here are the winners since the turn of the century:

2019 — Kevin Pillar
2018 — Will Smith
2017 — Nick Hundley
2016 — Brandon Crawford and Javier López
2015 — Matt Duffy
2014 — Madison Bumgarner
2013 — Hunter Pence
2012 — Buster Posey
2011 — Ryan Vogelsong
2010 — Andrés Torres
2009 — Matt Cain
2008 — Bengie Molina
2007 — Bengie Molina
2006 — Omar Vizquel
2005 — Mike Matheny
2004 — J.T. Snow
2003 — Marquis Grissom
2002 — David Bell
2001 — Benito Santiago and Mark Gardner
2000 — Ellis Burks

Did Barry Bonds hit a home run today?


September 15, 2003: Against the San Diego Padres, Bonds hit a solo home run in the 1st inning off of Brian Lawrence. It gave the Giants a 2-0 lead, and they would win 8-7. It was his 42nd homer of the year.

Old, random MCC article for you to read

Okay, fine, Barry Bonds is not the Home Run King (April 9, 2014 — Grant Brisbee)

I hope you all have a tremendous Tuesday.