clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gamethread: 2012 NLDS Game 4

Barry Zito vs. Mike Leake.

San Francisco Giants v Cincinnati Reds - Game Four

Due to the coronavirus outbreak suspending the 2020 MLB season, we’re rewatching the three San Francisco Giants postseason runs, game-by-game, on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday nights at 6 p.m. PT, with a gamethread for each.

The San Francisco Giants kept their season alive in Game 3 of the NLDS by narrowly earning an extra-innings win over the Cincinnati Reds. It wasn’t exactly inspiring, but a win is a win, and they live to see another day and play another game.

So it’s on to Game 4, with the Giants still having their back firmly against the wall. They trail the best-of-five series 2-1, so they not only need to win two straight games, but two straight games on the road.

Tasked with keeping the season afloat is ... Barry Zito. The lefty finished 2012 with a 15-8 record, a 4.15 ERA (how very San Francisco of him), a 4.49 FIP, and 114 strikeouts in 184.1 innings.

As for the Reds, they’re countering with future Giant Mike Leake. The righty finished the year with an 8-9 record, a 4.58 ERA, a 4.42 FIP, and 116 strikeouts in 179 innings.

We’re starting this rewatch at the same time as all of the rewatches: 6 p.m. PT. The video isn’t embeddable, but you can find it by clicking here, then you can watch or cast from your browser. Or you can find it on YouTube by searching “Giants 2012 NLDS Game 4” and clicking the first link.

For those who want to skip the pregame show, the actual game starts a little more than 8 minutes in. So you can join at 6:08 p.m. PT, and use this link to go straight to the 8-minute mark.

Here’s the Reds lineup:

  1. Brandon Phillips — 2B
  2. Zack Cozart — SS
  3. Joey Votto — 1B
  4. Ryan Ludwick — LF
  5. Jay Bruce — RF
  6. Todd Frazier — 3B
  7. Dioner Navarro — C
  8. Drew Stubbs — CF
  9. Mike Leake — P

And for the Giants:

  1. Angel Pagan — CF
  2. Marco Scutaro — 2B
  3. Pablo Sandoval — 3B
  4. Buster Posey — 1B
  5. Hunter Pence — RF
  6. Hector Sanchez — C
  7. Gregor Blanco — LF
  8. Brandon Crawford — SS
  9. Barry Zito — P