clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gamethread: 2012 World Series Game 2

Madison Bumgarner vs. Doug Fister.

World Series - Detroit Tigers v San Francisco Giants - Game Two Photo by Mark Cunningham/MLB Photos via Getty Images

Due to the coronavirus outbreak suspending the 2020 MLB season, we’re rewatching the three San Francisco Giants postseason runs, game-by-game, on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday nights at 6 p.m. PT, with a gamethread for each.

For the first time all postseason, the San Francisco Giants go into a game with a series lead. They never led in the NLDS, falling behind the Cincinnati Reds 2-0 before putting together a three-game win streak. They never led in the NLCS either, falling behind the St. Louis Cardinals 1-0 and then 3-1, only to mount a second three-game win streak.

But after hilariously dominating the Barry Zito vs. Justin Verlander matchup in Game 1, winning 8-3, the Giants now hold a 1-0 lead over the AL champion Detroit Tigers. So instead of playing catchup, they can try to expand their lead in Game 2.

To do so they turn to Madison Bumgarner, who finished the season with a 16-11 record, a 3.37 ERA, a 3.50 FIP, and 191 strikeouts in 208.1 innings.

The Tigers are giving the ball to Doug Fister, who finished the year with a 10-10 record, a 3.45 ERA, a 3.42 FIP, and 137 strikeouts in 161.2 innings.

We’re starting this rewatch at the same time as all of the rewatches: 6 p.m. PT. The video isn’t embeddable, but you can find it by clicking here, then you can watch or cast from your browser. Or you can find it on YouTube by searching “2012 World Series Game 2” and clicking the first link.

Here’s Jim Leyland’s lineup:

  1. Austin Jackson — CF
  2. Omar Infante — 2B
  3. Miguel Cabrera — 3B
  4. Prince Fielder — 1B
  5. Delmon Young — LF
  6. Jhonny Peralta — SS
  7. Avisail Garcia — RF
  8. Gerald Laird — C
  9. Doug Fister — P

And Bruce Bochy’s squad:

  1. Angel Pagan — CF
  2. Marco Scutaro — 2B
  3. Pablo Sandoval — 3B
  4. Buster Posey — C
  5. Hunter Pence — RF
  6. Brandon Belt — 1B
  7. Gregor Blanco — LF
  8. Brandon Crawford — SS
  9. Madison Bumgarner — P