clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gamethread: 2010 NLDS Game 1

Matt Cain vs. Johnny Cueto.

2012 NLDS Game 1: Cincinnati Reds v. San Francisco Giants

Due to the coronavirus outbreak suspending the 2020 MLB season, we’re rewatching the three San Francisco Giants postseason runs, game-by-game, on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday nights at 6 p.m. PT, with a gamethread for each.

Congratulations, San Francisco Giants fans. The Giants are 2010 World Series champions.

Thankfully, baseball didn’t exist in 2011, and so we jump straight to 2012.

The Giants won the National League West with a record of 94-68, which was good for the third seed. Their reward? A date with the second seed, the NL Central-winning Cincinnati Reds, who went 97-65.

Thanks to MLB’s bizarre scheduling that they’ve thankfully since abandoned, the Giants host the first two games of the series, before things shift to Cincinnati for good. So they’ve got a chance to jump out ahead at home.

For Game 1, the Giants send out Matt Cain, who represented the Giants in the All-Star Game, and finished sixth in Cy Young Award voting. He went 16-5 on the year, with a 2.79 ERA, a 3.40 FIP, and 193 strikeouts in 219.1 innings.

The Reds are countering with someone Giants fans are now very familiar with: Johnny Cueto. Cueto finished fourth in Cy Young voting after going 19-9 with a 2.78 ERA, a 3.27 FIP, and 170 strikeouts in 217 innings.

We’re starting this rewatch at the same time as all of the rewatches: 6 p.m. PT. The video isn’t embeddable, but you can find it by clicking here, then you can watch or cast from your browser. Or you can find it on YouTube by searching “Giants 2012 NLDS Game 1” and clicking the first link.

For those who want to skip the pregame show, the actual game starts a little more than 7 minutes in. So you can join at 6:07 p.m. PT, and use this link to go straight to the 7-minute mark.

The Reds lineup features quite a handful of future Giants, while being managed by former Giant and former Giants manager Dusty Baker.

  1. Brandon Phillips — 2B
  2. Zack Cozart — SS
  3. Joey Votto — 1B
  4. Ryan Ludwick — LF
  5. Jay Bruce — RF
  6. Scott Rolen — 3B
  7. Ryan Hanigan — C
  8. Drew Stubbs — CF
  9. Johnny Cueto — P

And Bruce Bochy’s bunch:

  1. Angel Pagan — CF
  2. Marco Scutaro — 2B
  3. Pablo Sandoval — 3B
  4. Buster Posey — C
  5. Hunter Pence — RF
  6. Brandon Belt — 1B
  7. Gregor Blanco — LF
  8. Brandon Crawford — SS
  9. Matt Cain — P

If you skimmed the above and are expecting a video here, it’s not embeddable. Find it here.