clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Hunter Pence to represent the Giants in MLB The Show tournament

New, comments

Baseball! Kind of.

National League Wild Card Game: San Francisco Giants v. New York Mets

The actual MLB season may be indefinitely suspended due to the coronavirus pandemic, but the virtual seasons live on. On Friday, MLB, the MLB Players Association, and Sony announced the start of an MLB The Show video game tournament, featuring 30 MLB players: One from each team.

You probably could have guessed the San Francisco Giants representative, even if I hadn’t put his name in the headline and photo: Hunter Pence.

That is exactly as it should be.

Pence will get to play at least 29 games, as each player will play every other player once. There will then be an eight-player playoff tournament. Players will play as their own team.

A $5,000 donation will be made to the Boys and Girls Club in each city, with an additional $25,000 for the winner’s city.

And if you’re bored and wanting to watch? You can! The games are going to be streamed on the Twitter, Twitch, Facebook, and YouTube accounts of MLB and MLB The Show, as well as on each team’s social accounts. So keep an eye turned to the Giants social accounts to see when you can watch Pence play some video games.

It’s all we’ve got, so I’ll take it. Maybe.

Here’s the full list of contestants:

Arizona Diamondbacks: Jon Duplantier
Atlanta Braves: Luke Jackson
Baltimore Orioles: Dwight Smith Jr.
Boston Red Sox: Eduardo Rodriguez
Chicago Cubs: Ian Happ
Chicago White Sox: Lucas Giolito
Cincinnati Reds: Amir Garrett
Cleveland Indians: Carlos Santana
Colorado Rockies: David Dahl
Detroit Tigers: Niko Goodrum
Houston Astros: Lance McCullers
Kansas City Royals: Brett Phillips
Los Angeles Angels: Ty Buttrey
Los Angeles Dodgers: Gavin Lux
Miami Marlins: Ryne Stanek
Milwaukee Brewers: Josh Hader
Minnesota Twins: Trevor May
New York Mets: Jeff McNeil
New York Yankees: Tommy Kahnle
Oakland A’s: Jesús Luzardo
Philadelphia Phillies: Rhys Hoskins
Pittsburgh Pirates: Cole Tucker
San Diego Padres: Fernando Tatis Jr.
San Francisco Giants: Hunter Pence
St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Carpenter
Seattle Mariners: Carl Edwards Jr.
Tampa Bay Rays: Blake Snell
Texas Rangers: Joey Gallo
Toronto Blue Jays: Bo Bichette
Washington Nationals: Juan Soto