clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Madison Bumgarner wins 2014 Willie Mac Award

The 25-year-old left-hander is the 35th recipient of the award.

Jason O. Watson

Madison Bumgarner, leader, All-Star, slugger, master of slutters, and distributor of snot rockets was voted the 2014 Willie Mac Award winner on Friday night. The annual award is voted on by the players and coaches and given to the most inspirational member of the team. Bumgarner is the 35th winner in its history.

From the press release sent by the Giants:

The award was established in 1980, in honor of legend and Hall of Famer Willie McCovey.  Bumgarner will receive a plaque prior to tonight's game. Engraved on the plaque are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey and Bumgarner exemplify.

The list of past winners:

Year Player
1980 Jack Clark
1981 Larry Herndon
1982 Joe Morgan
1983 Darrell Evans
1984 Bob Brenly
1985 Mike Krukow
1986 Mike Krukow
1987 Chris Speier
1988 José Uribe
1989 Dave Dravecky
1990 Steve Bedrosian
1991 Robby Thompson
1992 Mike Felder
1993 Kirt Manwaring
1994 (not awarded due to strike)
1995 Mark Leiter
1995 Mark Carreon
1996 Shawon Dunston
1997 J. T. Snow
1998 Jeff Kent
1999 Marvin Benard
2000 Ellis Burks
2001 Mark Gardner
2001 Benito Santiago
2002 David Bell
2003 Marquis Grissom
2004 J. T. Snow
2005 Mike Matheny
2006 Omar Vizquel
2007 Bengie Molina
2008 Bengie Molina
2009 Matt Cain
2010 Andres Torres
2011 Ryan Vogelsong
2012 Buster Posey
2013 Hunter Pence
2014 Madison Bumgarner

Jack Clark. Huh.

Congratulations to Madison Bumgarner, who is somehow becoming a veteran at the same age that other pitchers are finishing their first full season. It's hard to express just how lucky we've been to watch him since 2010.