FanPost

2014 Giants' Draft Review - First 14 Rounds

My preliminary grade for this year's draft is barely a "C". It has the possibility of moving down to a "D" or all the way up to a "B-", depending on how many of the high-upside and younger prospects they sign from their picks after the 10th round. I almost dropped them down to an initial C- grade just because I felt they should have grabbed a much more impressive haul of talent in the first 3 rounds - seeing how they had by far their highest draft position in each round since they drafted in the #6 spot back in 2009. It was especially disappointing to see the Giants go back to their usual "safer" college heavy tendencies in the early rounds, because this year's draft pool was so deep in high school talent and so thin in college talent. Not to mention that they teased us by going for high school kids with their top 2 picks in last year's draft.

As far as signing predictions go, I do think the Giants will sign all 10 of their top 10 picks. The one guy that they could possibly lose out on is Stetson Woods, the 9th round HS pitcher, but I still think the odds of him not signing are only in the 2-3% range. Unfortunately, looking at how much money they've spent on the 3 draftees inside the top 10 rounds that they've been able to sign already (Coonrod, Ewing and Gage), I don't believe they'll be able to claw back enough money under their overall bonus pool limit to allow them the ability to sign more than 1 or 2 post-10th round relatively high-upside picks. That's because I don't believe that they'll be able to sign their top 3 picks, Beede, Garcia and Davis, for anything more that a few thousand dollars under their allotted slots; and I think that the 2 high school pitchers (Webb and Woods) will both require more than slot to sign. I also think that Austin Slater will sign for right around his alloted slot amount - in the $160K range. That would mean that the Giants would have to claw back at least $100K from Seth Harrison, the 7th round pick, to even hint at the possibility of signing 2 of the 11 total highly-rated/higher-upside post-10th rounders. IMO, they'll only be able to sign one of these guys, most likely Tim Susnara (34th round) or Hunter Cole (26th round) for a significant over slot deal.

Before I go into my in-depth look at each pick, I'm going to list how I currently feel about each draftee by placing them in 4 basic categories.

PICKS I LIKE
Beede (1st rd.); Webb (4); Ewing (6);
Harrison (7) - only if they have a deal to sign him for significant $$$ under cap;
Slater (8); Woods (9); Lacen (13);
Rivera (14); Moss (15); Smith (17);
Agosto (18); Amion (19); Underwood (20);
Crownover (21); Reyes (22); Petersen (24);
Murray (25); Cole (26); Cruz (29);
Nelson (31); Susnara (34); Taylor (36); Ryan (39)

PICKS THAT WERE OKAY, BUT UNINSPIRING
Davis (3); Coonrod (5); Henning (12);
Brody (11); Ginkel (16); Johnson (23);
Kaden (27); Sabo (28); Covington (30);
Deacon (33)

PICKS I DISLIKED
Garcia (2);
Gage (10) - if he had signed for > $50K under slot he would have moved up 2 categories

PICKS THAT WERE THROWAWAY FOR COURTESY/VANITY PURPOSES
Williams (32); Hart (35); Christman (37);
Santiago (38); Mahan (40)


Now for my thoughts and analysis for each of the first 14 draft picks. The 3 numbers inside the brackets at the end of the first line for each draftee correspond to where he was ranked pre-draft by Baseball America (BA), mlb.com, and Scout.com (Kiley McDaniel), respectively. BA's list went 500 deep, mlb's went 200 deep, and McDaniel's went 291 deep, so if there's no number listed in those spots for a particular draftee that means he didn't make it on those lists.

1.14 Beede, Tyler: RHP, Vanderbilt (6’4", 215) DOB=1993/05/23 (Draft Day Age=21.012) [15; 12; 22]
NOTE: The first 2 paragraphs below contain what I wrote about Beede on June 18th, two days after he looked so ridiculously lost during his 3+ inning start against UC-Irvine in the 6th game of the College World Series elimination round. I tacked on a 3rd paragraph to include my observations of Beede's 7+ inning start against Virginia, yesterday (June 24th), in game 2 of the CWS finals.

There seemed to be a lot of specific and general dissatisfaction with this pick here on the McC, which kind of surprised me. Even more so since the draft ended and many have seen Beede pitch on TV the past 2 weeks against Stanford and UC-Irvine. I have to say that I pretty strongly disagree with this dissatisfaction. I've been following Beede's career very closely ever since the beginning of 2011 (when he was preparing for his senior year of high school baseball). I liked Beede very much back then as a potential Giant draftee. In fact, I actually picked him with the #29 for the Giants when I was in charge of the Giants mock draft war room on John Sickels's minorleagueball.com website held back in May of 2011. That was before it became general knowledge that Beede was adamantly telling teams not to draft him, because he was sure that he would be attending Vanderbilt. After that, I was able to follow his 3 seasons at Vandy very closely, because I get to watch a lot of SEC games on TV every spring due to my Florida location. I've probably seen Beede pitch at least 9 games over the last 3 years, with at least 7 of those games coming in the last 2 seasons. With that much of a file on him, I can confidently state that the way Beede pitched against UCI on Monday (June 16th) was a total aberration. Yes, Beede has shown a tendency during his college career to have stretches in games where he loses control of his pitches and has trouble throwing strikes. However, those types of games mainly came during his freshman season at Vandy, when he was struggling against a powerful SEC schedule. He also started out the first 4 weeks of the 2013 college season struggling with his control, but that was nothing like the struggles that he had at times during his freshman season. Beede showed much better control and command during the 2nd half of the 2013 college season and never had any game where he just fell apart like he did on Monday night. This season his control has been consistently solid up until his last 5 games (including Monday's game agains UCI). Not to say that he didn't run into some rough patches in games, but he has almost always been able to right the ship after an inning or 2 when the control issues have popped up since the middle of the 2013 season. From what I've seen of him, and read about him, his main control problem this year has been that he basically lost all confidence in his curveball by the final third of the season. He's been relying heavily on his plus changeup when his FB control has gone wobbly. On Monday night we saw that again. He really only had confidence in his changeup once he got into the 2nd inning, and I think he only threw 8 curveballs before being removed in the 4th inning after throwing 71 pitches. The big difference on Monday night versus all the other times that I saw him was that he totally lost all confidence in, and feel for, his fastball, too. Not only didn't he have a consistent delivery with his FB, but you could see that he didn't even want to release it out of his hand. IMO, his problem was 1 part mechanical and 2 parts mental. The only pitch he felt comfortable letting go of was his changeup. He got in a vicious cycle of worrying about his mechanics, which caused him to lose more control of his FB, which caused him to tinker with his release point, which caused him to become even more wild, which caused him to totally lose confidence in his mechanics entirely, which caused him to hold onto the ball way too long, or way too little, which caused him to have no ability to even come within 2 feet of the strike zone with his FB. Once any athlete in any sport starts thinking and imagining about his mechanics and how "off" they are in real-time then they're toast for the duration of that game or event. Why did this happen to a grizzled veteran like Beede? Is he just a head case who will fold in any high pressure game? Based on my experience the answer is clearly, "No," and the cause of his meltdown was pretty obvious. As the ESPN analyst noted during Monday night's game, Beede had struggled with his control during the 1 game he started in the SEC Tournament back on May 22nd. During the 2 weeks after that game, Beede and the pitching coach made some mechanical tweaks to his delivery, and he seemed to have locked the tweaks in when he went out and dominated his next start against Xavier in the NCAA Nashville Regionals (8 innings, 4 hits, 0 runs, 14 Ks, 2 BBs). However, the following week when he pitched against Stanford (right after the Giants drafted him) I could see that he still was caught somewhere between his old and new mechanics. He started out that game with repeatable mechanics, but then the wheels started to fall off in the 3rd inning and his mechanics were hit and miss during the 4th inning before he finally got sent to the showers with 2 outs in the 5th inning and a 10-6 Vandy lead. It wasn't surprising to me, because, sa we saw with Ryan Vogelsong at the beginning of this season, having only 1-2 weeks is just not enough time for most pitchers to lock in mechanical changes when they're only starting 2 games during that stretch - even if you assume that the michanical tweaks being incorporated are the correct ones to solve the problem. Any pitcher that is trying to lock in mechanical tweaks to his delivery, and thinking about those tweaks, while pitching in a live game is going to struggle with his control and look lost at times on the mound.

Those are the points that I wanted to make about Beede over his last 2 starts. Now I'd like to talk in more general terms of why I like Beede as a prospect. To start with, this guy has premium stuff. He has 3 pitches that have all shown as plus pitches at some point over the last 2 college seasons. He has a FB that easily sits in the 93-95 mph range, with good late movement, and touches 98-99 mph. He has a power curveball that he throws in the low 80s that shows both well above average depth and bite, and he has a plus changeup that shows excellent late drop and arm-side run. He throws his changeup with the same arm motion and release point as his FB - and it's consistently at least 10 mph slower than his average FB velocity. Secondly, Beede is a sturdy workhorse on the mound. He's never missed a start or shown any arm health problems during his 3 season college career or in HS. Not only can he consistently throw 100+ pitches in every start, but during the past 2 seasons he has shown the elite stamina that allows him to throw his FB with as much velocity on his 100th pitch as he does on his first 5 pitches. For example, during his start against Stanford, Beede threw 105 pitches over 4.2 innings. His first 9 pitches were all FBs that he threw between 92 and 96 mph (one 92, one 93, and the rest were 94-96). The last 5 FBs that Beede piched (pitches number 101 through 105 overall) were clocked at 93-96 mph! And I didn't see him throw a single FB below 93 mph after the first inning. This makes me believe that Beede will have very little problems in terms of stamina and keeping his velocity once he has to pitch every 5th game starting in the upper minor leagues. The 2 major changes that I would like the Giants to make with Beede are mechanical and psychological. On the mechanical side I want them to smooth out his delivery, make it much more of a flowing motion from start to finish and not the somewhat herky-jerky robotic windup that he's used recently. I really don't like the way he brings his hands quickly above his head and then quickly back down to his chest as he gathers himself to begin his forward motion to the plate. He needs to loosen it up and let more of his athleticism shine through. Psychologically, the Giants need to instill more of a cocky attitude in him while out on the mound. He needs to have the attitude, and truly believe, that his stuff is top shelf and that he dares the batters to try and hit it. Just reer back and let it fly. It may sound like a lot to work on, but I really believe that he's already very close to putting it all together. If the Giants pitching gurus can get him to lock in on one delivery and to stop continuously tinker with it as soon as the first signs of wildness show up then I think he can develop he solid and repeatable mechanics that will allow him to show at least average command and control of his pitches in the coming years. Doing that should also go a long ways towards getting his head in the right mental state during his outings on the mound. He certainly offers them all the best raw materials and top-shelf present stuff to make their jobs a lot easier than all of the kids they've gotten into camp on day 1 since back in the summer of 2006 when Timmy signed his first contract.

I did see Beede's start against Virginia last night and had a few comments. First off, the difference between his control between his last game, against UCI, and this game were night-and-day to me. It was obvious that Beede and his pitching coach have already incorporated one of the changes to his mechanics that I mentioned up above. If you remember how quick and unnatural his move with his hands going above his head and then back down to his chest was in the Stanford and UCI games, then you will have noticed that against Virginia he was much slower and more fluid with his intial hand movements. That seemed to give him a much more repeatable and natural motion leading up to his release point. Secondly, once again Beede showed that he can keep his velocity deep into games. He was still throwing his FB in the 94-96 mph range in the 7th inning even after 110 pitches in a very stressful and tight game. I'm assuming that folks are feeling a lot better about the Beede pick now than they were only a few short days ago.
'12: G=16, GS=11, IP=71.2, K=68 (8.5/9), BB=32 (4.0/9), K/BB=2.1, H=78 (9.8/9), WHIP=1.53, ERA=4.52
'13: GS=17, IP=101, K=103 (9.2/9), BB=63 (5.6/9), K/BB=1.6, H=64 (5.7/9), WHIP=1.26, BAA=.187, BABIP=.257
'14: GS=17, IP=103, K=108 (9.4/9), BB=47 (4.1/9), K/BB=2.3, H=79 (6.9/9), WHIP=1.22, ERA=3.58

VID1: Live game - Spring 2014 Team USA exhibition: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v31220267


2.52 Garcia, Aramis: C, RHH, Florida Int. Univ. (6’2", 220) DOB=1993/01/12 (DDA=21.144) [74; 78; 35]
I didn't like this pick at all. He’s not a bad prospect, but I think that the Giants could have drafted a coolege guy similar to Garcia in the 4th or 5th rounds. It's especially depressing to me when I look at the large list of HS and college prospects that were still on the board when the Giants picked Garcia. Joe Gatto, Ti'quan Forbes, Garret Fulenchek, Scott Blewett, Sam Travis, and Jacob Lindgren are the top 6 names that I would have loved to hear called out for the Giants at #52. So, Garcia represents a real missed opportunity, IMO. Nothing that he does really stands out to me – besides his leadership skills and baseball IQ. I do like his short, quick and level swing mechanics, but wouldn't rate his hit tool as anything more than above average. He did show significant statistical improvement in all offensive categories, except for HRs, during the 2014 college season. I especially was encouraged by his greatly improved patience and contact rate at the playe. However, he did see a significant increase in his BABIP and he did play in a hiiter's ballpark and in a league with not much good pitching. He hasn’t hit for a lot of power and I don't project his future power tool to be anything more than average. His arm strength is above average, but he doesn't have a quick release nor does he post consistently fast pop times in games to make his throws play up to his arm strength. He’s only an average defensive catcher right now, nor has he shown quick feet or good pitch-framing skills behind the plate, although with a lot of practice and hard work those are all areas that he could conceiveably improve upon in the future. Finally, his footspeed, while fine for a catcher, is slightly below average. Not the profile of a guy to take at #52 overall in a deep draft, and certainly not worth the ~$1.1M slot limit at #52. I wouldn’t offer him more than $800K, myself. His most likely ceiling, imo, is to be Haktor's replacemant as the backup catcher in 3 or 4 years. OTOH, I do give Garcia a lot of credit for the steady improvement that he showed across all 3 seasons at FIU, and for putting in the long hours in the weight room to mold and sculpt his 190 lb. high school graduation frame into a solid and powerful 220 lb. mass. It's an encouraging sign to me that he has the will and desire to overcome his athletic limitations and become a major leaguer.
Drafted out of HS in the 20th round of 2011 by St. Louis.
’12: .271/.344/.417/.761, BABIP=.319, isoP=.146, AB=192, 2B=8, 3B=1, HR=6, BB=19 (8.8%), K=43 (19.9%), SB=1/3 (33%)
'12 (Cape): .250/.306/.400/.706, isoP=.150, AB=100, 2B=6, 3B=0, HR=3, BB=8 (7.1%), K=32 (28.6%), SB=1/3 (33%)
13: .321/.378/.522/.900, BABIP=.349, isoP=.201, AB=224, 2B=12, 3B=0, HR=11, BB=17 (6.9%), K=39 (15.9%), SB=0/1
'13 (Cape): .000/.500/.000/.500, isoP=.000, AB=1, 2B=0, 3B=0, HR=0, BB=1 (50%), K=0 (0%), SB=1/1 (100%)
’14: .368/.442/.626/1.068, BABIP=.371, isoP=.258, AB=163, 2B=14, 3B=2, HR=8, BB=25 (12.6%), K=23 (11.6%), SB=4/5 (80%)

VID1: BP + Live ABs - Spring 2014 college: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qoXx1r3SPCA
VID2: BP + Live ABs - Spring 2014 college: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6h660eKtOI

3.87 Davis, Dylan: LF/RHP, Oregon State Univ. (6’1", 205) DOB=1993/07/20 (DDA=20.320) [93; 74; 98]
Dylan is a dual prospect with his plus raw power at the plate and a plus arm that allows him to throw a FB that reaches 97 mph on the mound. His raw power at the plate has been described as "massive" and gives him the ability to hit the ball out of any park and to any field. His ++ arm plays very well in RF, but his average footspeed and outfield defense probably makes LF a better option should he make it to SF as an OFer. Although his hitting and power produciton tailed off noticeably this spring for OSU. in 2013 (in college and the Cape Cod Summmer League) Davis showed the ability to hit for a very good batting average while supplying well above average power at the plate. Even using wood bats on the Cape he was able to blast 6 Hrs and 8 doubles in only 104 ABs. The guy in the system that I think Davis most closely resembles is Mac Williamson. Though Davis doesn't have Mac's fringe-plus straight away speed, he has shown the ability to make more consistent contact at the plate and keep his strikeouts well below average for a power hitter. Other than those 2 categories, they seem eerily similar to me as prospects. Both of their paths to the majors, if they do indeed make it all the way, will be determined by their ability to make enough consistent contact at the plate to allow their plus-plus raw power to translate into at least above average in-game power. Davis does have one more advantage over Mac, because if Davis can't make it as a hitter in the minors he stands a great chance of making it as a reliever in the majors. A major decision like that wouldn't come for quite a few years, though. I'm sure the Giants will give Davis at least 3 full seasons in the minors as a hitter before making any drastic changes. Finally, Davis has a leg up on Mac, because he'll be starting his pro career more than a full year younger than Mac was back in June
2012.
'12 (Cape): .226/.250/.452/.702, isoP=.226, AB=31, 2B=2, 3B=1, HR=1, BB=1 (3.1%), K=12 (37.5%)
‘13: .335/.379/.502/.881, BABIP=.367, ISOp=.167, AB=257, 2B=22, 3B=3, HR=5, BB=19 (6.7%), K=35 (12.4%), SB=9/15 (67%)
'13 (Cape): .317/.388/.507/.955, isoP=.190, AB=104, 2B=8, 3B=0, HR=6, BB=12 (9.9%), K=16 (13.2%), SB=2/2 (100%)
’14: .283/.338/.430/.769, BABIP=.293, ISOp=.157, AB=237, 2B=14, 3B=0, HR=7, BB=21 (7.9%), K=31 (11.7%), SB=4/8 (50%)
PITCH
'13: G=2, IP=2, K=1 (4.5/9), BB=3 (13.5/9), K/BB=0.33, H=5 (22.5/9), WHIP=4.00, BAA=.500, BABIP=.556
'14: G=5, IP=16, K=14 (7.9/9), BB=14 (7.9/9), K/BB=1, H=7 (3.9/9), WHIP=1.31, ERA=1.13

VID1: Live pitching + AB - Summer 2013 - Cape League: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v31230509
VID2: BP - August 2010 - AA High School Classic in San Diego: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lt1yA_mCDOA
VID3: Live AB - May 2014 - HR vs. Univ. Portland: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIxorpSiPO0
VID4: 4 ABs in live game - May 2014 - OSU vs. Cal Bears: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yj0_uIXZFFU
VID5: Post-game interview - June 2013 - Just eliminated from CWS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKxo-1oZSXM

4.118 Webb, Logan: RHP, Rocklin HS, CAL (6’2", 195) DOB=1996/11/18 (DDA=17.199) [214; ; 190]
Webb is a great value pick for the Giants in the 4th round, and I don't think they would have drafted him this highly if they weren't 100% certain they could sign him - likely to a slightly over slot deal around $500K (his slot value is $440.6K). Webb shares some similar traits to the last high school pitcher that the Giants drafted inside the 5th round - Kyle Crick. Both were lightly-regarded prospects until they impressed the scouts with their athleticism, plus arms, and raw upside while pitching during the summer before their senior year in HS. Neither guy really begin fully concentrating on baseball or pitching until the last 3-4 months of their high school careers, because they were multi-sport athletes who played football full-time (Webb was the star QB and Crick was the star Defensive Lineman) in the fall (Webb also was a starter on his HS basketball team). Finally, both showed scouts a noticeable velocity spike and improved secondary offerings during the 3 months leading up to their respective June drafts. Crick showed a bit more top velocity pre-draft than Webb did this spring, but Webb's frame is more projectable than Crick's was pre-draft so I think that Webb has another velocity jump ahead of him now that he will be getting elite coaching on his mechanics and will be concentrating on pitching full time. Webb's FB sat in the 94-96 mph range in several games this spring, and he showed better control of his pitches than Crick did pre-draft. Although both can be said to have very fresh arms at the end of their HS careers, when compared to the vast majority of the typical highly-drafted HS pitcher, it should be noted that Webb's HS coach rode him pretty heavily a few times this spring in an attempt to win a regional championship. AT one point he had Webb throw a 145-pitch start and then brought him back to pitch in relief a mere 3 days later. Webb's FB was sitting only in the upper-80s during that relief appearance, and he only hit 90 or 91 mph with a few pitches. Webb did recover from that exhausting stretch and his FB did regain it premium velocity as the spring wore on. In fact, it he was sitting in the low-90s, and touched 95 mph several times, during Rocklin's first playoff game on May 15th. Webb threw 95 pitches over 6.1 innings that day - holding the opposing team to only 1 run on 5 hits while striking out 11. In his outing prior to that game, Webb wowed the numerous scouts in attendance with a FB that touched 96 mph, while throwing a complete game 1-0 shutout against highly-rated RHP Mitch Hart and his Granite Bay HS. One other great thing that Webb has going for him is his extremely young age. He was easily one of the 4 or 5 youngest prospects in the entire draft, and he won't turn 18 years old until the middle of November. By comparison, when the Giants drafted Kyle Crick back in 2011 he was 12 days shy of being a full year older than Webb was when the Giants just drafted him (Crick's DDD=18.187, Webb's DDD=17.199). Being relatively young for your competition level isn't as an important of an indicator of future major league success for a pitcher as it is for a hitter, but it does likely mean that Webb has more physical growth and more upside ahead of him than the typical HS pitcher would.
Cal Poly - SLO commit.
VID1: Pitching a HS baseball game - April 2014: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAJ_B6DjFOs
VID2: Webb throws TD pass in HS football game from Oct. 2012: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4UlA44Y4wA
VID3: Webb in a slam dunk contest from Nov. 2013: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MZHmBBULwAw


5.148 Coonrod, Sam: RHP, So. Illinois Univ. (6’2", 190) DOB=1992/09/22 (DDA=21.256) [136; 103; 128]
UPDATE: Coonrod signed for $247K (exactly slot) in mid-June and has been placed on the Scottsdale roster.
Coonrod has already agreed to terms and was flying to Scottsdale on June 13th, so the only thing that can keep him from joining the fold is if the Giants void the deal due to something they don't like from his medical exam in Sottsdale. Coonrod is a very athletic pitcher who is blessed with a good pitchers body and a fast arm. He was a 3 sport star athlete in HS - earning top regional honors in baseball, basketball and football. He really shined on the baseball diamond, though, ending his HS career by being named the top baseball player in the state of Illinois by several media publications. He was a star 2-way player in HS, but he correctly decided to concentrate on pitching once he made it to college. A significant velocity bump during his freshman season (he touched 98 mph several times during the spring of 2012) allowed him to make a major contribution to his college team the minute he stepped onto the field as a freshman. He started out in the bullpen (where he made 8 appearances), but he soon forced his way into the starting rotation and ended up with 10 starts by the end of the season. He's been a starter for SIU ever since then - and a very durable one at that. He never missed a start and ended his 3 year college career with 40 starts and a total of 228 innings pitched. The biggest issue for Coonrod in college, and it will remain his main issue as he attempts to climb the ladder to the major leagues, is his lack of control caused him to have to throw a lot of pitches and rarely allowed him to pitch past the 5th or 6th inning in all of his starts. The 2nd major issue that will keep Coonrod from being a starter in the majors is his lack of a consistently above average 2nd and 3rd pitch. Over the past 2 years he's flashed a slider that was a plus pitch, but it comes and goes and he has trouble controlling it even on days when it's "on". His 3rd pitch is a below average changeup that flashes average at best. On top of that, his FB has been sitting in the low-90s during his starts the past few years as he has attempted to gain better command and control of the pitch - and to pace himself to last longer into starts. Add it all together and it appears to me very likely that Coonrod will quickly end up in the bullpen as a late-inning reliever after getting perhaps 1 season in the lower minors to prove himself as a starter. In the pen he can throw his FB at max velocity for an inning or 2, scrap the changeup, and concentrate on perfecting his slider. Being able to greatly improve the command and cotrol of his FB/SL combo wouldn't be as necessary if he were used in that type of a role. When I look at video of him pitching, I see enough mechanical flaws to give me hope that the Giants can tweak his delivery to unlock his full potential and give him better control in the coming few seasons. Besides not having a consistent delivery from pitch to pitch, the 2 main issues I see in his mechanics are a tendency to speed up his delivery so much that he gets under the ball (which makes his pitches elevate and lose velocity); and he also tends to try to aim his pitches instead of just trusting the natural flow of his mechanics. Finally, I'll add that Coonrod is quite old for his junior class - with a September birthdate he really should have graduated HS with the
class of 2010, not 2011.
'12: G=18, GS=10, IP=64, K=54 (7.6/9), BB=20 (2.8/9), K/BB=2.7, H=60 (8.4/9), WHIP=1.25, ERA=4.64
'13: GS=15, IP=79.2, K=68 (7.7/9), BB=49 (5.5/9), K/BB=1.4, H=79 (8.9/9), WHIP=1.61, BAA=.258, BABIP=.332
'13 (Cape): G=8, GS=3, IP=16.2, K=14 (7.6/9), BB=13 (7/9), K/BB=1., H=15 (8.1/9), WHIP=1.68, ERA=4.86
'14: GS=15, IP=84.2, K=77 (8.2/9), BB=47 (5/9), K/BB=1.6, H=70 (7.4/9), WHIP=1.38, ERA=2.87

VID1: summer 2013 - Cape Cod League: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v32356805
VID2: In-depth slow-mo mechanical analysis of his delivery: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKVDGiMNSd8
VID3: Live game - July 2013 - Cape Cod League: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQCULBAUFm4
VID4: Live game - May 2014 - MVC Tournament vs. Evansville: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UF8Yiwo3_vc

6.178 Ewing, Skyler: 1B/C, RHH, Rice Univ., TEX (6’1", 220) DOB=1992/08/22 (DDA=21.287) [168; 195; 227]
UPDATE: Ewing signed for $247K (on slot) in mid-June and has made his pro debut for Scottsdale.
Ewing was drafted as a catcher, even though he only had 7 starts (out of 61 total starts) at catcher this season for Rice and only 4 starts at catcher last year. The vast majority of his starts in college and summer ball over the last 3 years have been at 1B and DH. He does have a well above average arm, but he's also doesn't hav the most agile feet, a quick release, or the natural athleticism to lead many to believe that a conversion to catching full time won't be an easy or short task and will likely only end up with him being a slightly below-average defensive catcher at best. OTOH, Ewing has shown an aptitude for accepting good coaching and refining his hittig technique and approach at the plate. He's also universally praised as a diligent student and a very hard worker. This season at Rice, his swing was noticeably shorter and quicker, showing that he had put tips that he learned during his 2013 summer on the Cape and his fall ball sessions at Rice to good use. His calling card, the one that will take him to the major leagues if he ever gets there, is his plus raw right-handed power bat. And, except for his 2013 college season, Ewing has done an above average job of having that raw power show up consistently in live game ABs. Another good in-game batting trait that Ewing has shown is the ability to be patient and have a good eye while hitting. He's had above average BB-rates in the 10-12.5% in every league he's played in since his sophomore year in college. The most exciting thing about his 2014 college results was that he was able to significantly raise his batting average (ending up at .335) and lower his K-rate (down to a very acceptable 12.5%), while also keeping his BB-rate above 10% and smashing 9 HRs. So, the Giants got pretty fair value to go with some significant upside here in the 6th round. Obviouisly, his path through the minor leagues is going to be slowed down considerably if the Giants are going to try to turn him into a full time catcher. If they leave him at 1B then I could see him working his way quickly to the upper minors as long as his bat stays potent. Ewing will also have to keep a close eye on his fitness level in the coming years, as he appears to me to have he type of body that will be prone to noticeable spread and weight-gain as he hits his mid-20s to early-30s. Another negative note, Ewing is another one of those very old for his junior class prospects. With an August birthdate he absolutely should have graduated HS with the class of 2010. Statistically speaking, this hurts him more than it does Coonrod, because being old for your draft class and league is much more detriminal as a sign of future success for a hitter than it is for a pitcher.
'12 (Nrthwds): .347/.410/.624/1.034, isoP=.277, AB=101, 2B=10, 3B=0, HR=6, BB=10 (8.4%), K=27 (22.7%)
‘13: .226/.347/.342/.689, BABIP=.254, isoP=.116, AB=146, 2B=5, 3B=0, HR=4, BB=23 (12.4%), K=30 (16.1%)
'13 (Cape): .287/.385/.496/.881, isoP=.209, AB=115, 2B=8, 3B=2, HR=4, BB=13 (9.6%), K=25 (18.5%)
’14: .335/.403/.512/.915, BABIP=.355, isoP=.177, AB=242, 2B=16, 3B=0, HR=9, BB=29 (10.4%), K=35 (12.5%)

VID1: Live game - summer 2013 - Cape Cod League: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v33270429
VID2: Live games - Feb. 2014 - vs. Stanford (begins @ 0:40 mark): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1lK_9jUKkQ
VID3: Pre-game interview - July 2013 - Cape Cod League: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Y8WM9WL1LE


7.208 Harrison, Seth: CF/RHP, RHH, Univ. of Louisiana-Lafayette (6’, 200) DOB=1992/07/22 (DDA=21.318) [; ; ]
Harrison is a redshirt junior, so he can return to college if the Giants don't sign him here. Harrison was a big reach at this slot, so I'm hoping that the Giants agreed to a well below slot signing bonus with him before this pick in an attempt to claw back some money to allow them to go over slot to sign young, high-upside draftees from later (most likely candidates: Stetson Woods, Matt Crownover, Hunter Cole, Hunter Williams, Tim Susnara, and Zach Taylor). Don't get me wrong, I do think that Harrison is an interesting prospect. He's just not worth a pick this high in the draft and would have likely still been available to the Giants (or several prospects just like him) after the 10th round. Harrison has excellent range and plus arm strength in CF, and he is a plus runner (clocked at 6.5 seconds in the 60-yard dash). His very encouraging career colleg BA of .328 also hides a marked dependence on an incredibly high BABIP of .391. He’s played 2 season in an very good hitter’s ballpark and been surrounded with a lineup that has been one of most prolific offense in all the country the last 2 seasons. Harrison has hit against a lof of pitchers throwing from the stretch and a lot of pitchers from the bottom of opposing teams' bullpen depth. To end up on a positive note, Harrison plays a strong enough defensive CF to stick there in the majors, he's got the power potential to possibly allow him to slide to RF in the future, and he's got enough arm strength and experience on the mound to predict that a move to the bullpen might be a successful path to the majors for him if his bat doesn't make it in pro ball.
‘13: .338/.417/.567/.984, BABIP=.411, ISOp=.229, AB=210, 2B=17, 3B=2, HR=9, BB=23 (9.2%), K=52 (20.7%), SB=10/17 (59%)
’14: .319/.378/.552/.930, BABIP=.374, ISOp=.233, AB=232, 2B=15, 3B=6, HR=9, BB=19 (6.9%), K=59 (21.3%), SB=15/15 (100%)
PITCHING
'13: G=3, IP=5.2, K=6 (9.5/9), BB=3 (4.8/9), K/BB=2, H=5 (7.9/9), WHIP=1.41, BAA=.250, BABIP=.308
'14: G=4, IP=3.2, K=6 (14.7/9), BB=1 (2.5/9), K/BB=6, H=5 (12.3/9), WHIP=1.64, ERA=2.45

VID: Interview - Feb. 2014: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=704PlNwPx_o


8.238 Slater, Austin: RF/3B, RHH, Stanford Univ. (6’2", 190) DOB=1992/12/19 (DDA=21.168) [139; ; 115]
I was a big fan of Slater for the Giants when he was available out of HS back in June 2011 as a 3B. He had sustained an ankle injury playing frisbee a week or 2 before the strart of his senior year of college baseball that caused him to miss the entire season. He also had a scholarship to play baseball for Stanford. He likely would have been drafted somewhere between the end of the 1st round through the end of the 2nd round if he had been healthy and performed up to his full ability during the spring of 2011. I thought that it would be a good opportunity for the Giants to nab a high-upside kid who had fallen due to an uncomplicated injury when they picked at the tail end of the 3rd round. Keep in mind that that was the last draft when teams had no signing bonus pool caps placed on them and only Bud Selig's mean glances kept them from offering well above slot to any draftee at any point in the draft. Not to mention that if the Giants hadn't been able to sign Slater in the 3rd round then they would have gotten a comp pick at the end of the 3rd round in the 2012 draft. Obviously, this didn't happen back then (Slater didn't get drafted until the 44th round), Slater did end up at Stanford, and the Giants did end up picking Slater here 3 years later. I still like Slater as a prospect for the Giants and I think that at #238 overall the Giants got very good value with Slater. He played a lot of CF for Stanford this year, and he did a good job in the games that I saw him play, but I don't see him as a CF in the long run. He's got a very good arm, and he runs very well, so he has the tools to play a well above average defensive RF in the majors (and he did play RF at Stanford quite a lot in 2013). However, if I was the Giants I'd move him back to 3B after he signs. That's the positiion that fit him the best back in HS and I still think that's where he'll likely have the best potential to become a major league starter going forward. Although he should continue to get stronger and add more power to his game, he's unlikely to ever hit more than around 10 HRs in a season as a pro. He should be able to provide above average power production at 3B, though, by hitting a lot of doubles and triples. I like what I see of his swing mechanics and I think that he's done a good job of optimizing his strengths and hiding his weaknesses at the plate his last 2 seasons. He has a simple, quick and compact swing that is geared towards hitting hard line drives from gap to gap. It's not the dreaded "Stanford swing" that we've seen from so many prospects we've seen coming out of Stanford the last 5-8 years. He's shown the ability to make consistent contact and to keep his k-rate down to very acceptable levels in his last 2 seasons at Stanford (something that is atypical for the recent Stanford hitters). While not a great runner, Slater does show a high baseball IQ on the basepaths - making himself into a proficient base-stealer and very opportunistic on the basepaths.
Drafted out of HS in the 44th round of 2011 by the Dodgers.
'12 (NEColl): .303/.397/.410/.807, isoP=.107, AB=122, 2B=8, 3B=1, HR=1, BB=16 (11.2%), K=25 (17.5%), SB=0/0
‘13: .269/.361/.411/.772, BABIP=.307, isoP=.142, AB=197, 2B=11, 3B=4, HR=3, BB=24 (10.4%), K=32 (13.9%), SB=5/7(71%)
'13 (Cape): .277/.352/.362/.714, isoP=.095, AB=141, 2B=7, 3B=1, HR=1, BB=13 (8.1%), K=38 (23.8%), SB=8/11 (73%)
’14: .341/.386/.493/.880, BABIP=.378, isoP=.152, AB=229, 2B=17, 3B=6, HR=2, BB=16 (6.2%), K=29 (11.2%), SB=6/7 (86%)

VID1: Live ABs - summer 2013 - Cape Cod League: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v33458847
VID2: BP - Spring 2013 - Stanford pregame: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrGs0V7TXJs
VID3: Super slo-mo swing - Spring 2013 - Stanford pregame: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mv3HCASryDY
VID4: Live game great running catch - March 2013 - vs. WSU: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qmo5tOeo1M

9.268 Woods, Stetson: RHP, Liberty HS, Madera, CAL (6’8", 200) DOB=1995/01/15 (DDA=19.141) [; ; ]
If there's one guy that the Giants drafted in the first 10 rounds that might end up not signing I think Woods is the only candidate. He does have a lot of upside, a scholarship offer to play at Fresno State, and the allotted value for his slot is only $148K. He has to figure there's a fair chance he'll get drafted in a much better slot 3 years down the road if he adds strength, velocity, and does reasonably well enough at Fresno. However, based on how the Giants have handled the first 10 rounds of the 2 previous CBA-ruled drafts, and because not signing Woods would lower the Giants overall bonus pool by $148K and put a major crimp in their ability to sign other high-upside draftees to above slot bonuses, I'm pretty certain that the Giants already had a general agreement with Woods' reps on how much the Giants would have to offer him to sign now. My guess is that he'll end up signing for something in the $200K range when the dust settles. Getting Woods at this point would be a great high-upside value for the Giants this late in Day 2.
BA.com article describing Woods's inning at the SoCal Showcase during Feb. 2014:
"...there was probably a three-way tie for the top arm. Stetson Woods (Liberty High), Jacob Nix (Los Alamitos High) and Grant Hockin (Damien High) not only had impressive pitching lines, but they seemed to generate the most buzz based on their arsenals. "Woods just filled up the zone, attacked every guy he faced and missed bats," one NL scout said. "I would have liked to see another batter or two to see more of the offspeed stuff." Woods was very efficient and needed 12 pitches to get through his frame of work. The Liberty righthander allowed one hit and struck out three. He worked mainly with his fastball, which sat 88-90 mph, but the Fresno State commit also showed a few curveballs, ranging from 70-76 mph."
Fresno State Univ. commit.
VID1: Live game - summer 2012: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPp_9m3h-ZA
VID2: Live game - August 2013 - Area Codes in Long Beach: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aj2gjxc5auE
VID3: Live game - Feb. 2014 - SoCal Invitational in Compton: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v33290447


10.298 Gage, Mathew: LHP, Siena College, NY (6’4", 240) DOB=1993/02/11 (DDA=21.114) [; ; ]
Gage was another apparent reach this early on. While he still has another year of college eligibility left (MLB.com incorrectly labeled him a college senior on draft day), I'm hoping that the Giants had a pre-draft understanding with Gage that will allow them to sign him to a significant under slot deal vs. the $138.2K that is allotted for his slot. If the Giants can save $50K to $100K on Gage it would allow them to offer a big above slot bonus to Hunter Cole and/or one of the high-upside HS prospects that they drafted the last 11 rounds of the draft. The Giants did something similar with their 10th round pick last year. They chose Tyler Rogers, a college senior, and signed him for only $7.5K. They used most of the money they saved in that deal to pay for the big $450K signing bonus that they gave to John Riley, the local HS catcher that they signed away from the Cal Bears. All that's not to say that Gage is just a throwaway org-filler type as a prospect. He is a lefty with good size and good control of his pitches. Despite his big size, he's not the power arm that you might expect. He does have some promise, though, with a FB that typically sits in the upper-80s and consistently tops out in the low-90s. In the game that I saw him pitch he relied heavily on this FB - mostly trying to stay on the outside corner of the plate with it, but also not afraid to bust the hitters inside to keep them honest. His best pitch though, was, a slurvy breaking ball that he threw in the low-80s from a 3/4 slot. His changeup was only a show-me pitch that he tried to use to keep the hitters off-balance. When he was pitching well and hitting his spots he stayed on top of the ball and used his height to get really good downward plane on his pitches. That's important for Gage, because he doesn't have the velocity, movement or deception to allow him to survive pitching up in the zone. He tends to give up way too many hard hit balls than is healthy for a pitcher with his small margin of error. He won't be able to survive long in the minors with that type of a profile. He needs to sharpen his command and keep the hitters more off-balance with a better offspeed pitch (either a better changeup or a slow, big curveball), in order to induce more weak contact and allow his velocity to play up. Physically speaking, he looks out of shape and more than a bit flabby to me. He's got a big butt that looks to be spreading, an oversized waist and an underdeveloped chest. I think that he would really benefit from a workout routined to tone up and add more muscle to his frame. Best case, the Giants have found another sleeper like Joe Kurrasch, worst case they look to have gotten a future LOOGY bullpen candidate to go along with the slot money they should be able to claw back by drafting and Signing Gage.

UPDATE: Reports are that Gage signed for full slot value ($138.2K) and has been placed on the Scottsdale Giants roster. That's not good news for those of us that hope to see the Giants be able to sign some of the high-upside and/or younger kids drafted after the 14th round. Now it comes down to how much money, if any, they can claw back from Seth Harrison, Dylan Davis and Aramis Garcia. My guess is they'll only end up getting Harrison at a noticeable discount from his slot value.
'13: G=15, IP=97.1, K=88 (8.1/9), BB=30 (2.7/9), K/BB=2.9, H=96 (8.9/9), WHIP=1.29, BAA=.261, BABIP=.341
'13 (Cape): GS=7, IP=34.2, K=25 (6.5/9), BB=7 (1.8/9), K/BB=3.6, H=40 10.4(/9), WHIP=1.36, ERA=3.89
'14: GS=16, IP=110, K=90 (7.4/9), BB=39 (3.2/9), K/BB=2.3, H=117 (9.6/9), WHIP=1.42, ERA=4.50


11.328 Brody, Greg: RHP, Belmont Univ., TENN (6’2", 185) DOB=1991/10/22 (DDA=22.226) [; ; ]
UPDATE: Brody signed for less than $100K (no bonus pool hit), and has made his pro debut for Scottsdale.
I can't get a good read on Brody's potential, because I haven't seen any clips of him pitching, nor read any reviews of what his stuff is like on the mound. Hopefully the Giants can turn him into another useful bullpen arm conversion project like they did with Jake Dunning. Brody was a redshirt junior in 2014, having sat out the entire 2013 college season due to an injury (I haven't been able to find a specific description of the injury). Brody should have an amazingly fresh arm, because he didn't pitch a single inning at Belmont during his freshman and sophomore seasons (2011 & '12), instead he was a starting position player from day 1 of his freshman season. After sitting out the 2013 season, he came back this year to win the closer role out of the bullpen, although he also did get in 18 games (61 ABs) as a hitter.
Trivia: In the entire history of the June draft, there had never been a player drafted that had the last name Brody - although there had been 7 draftees with they first name Brody.
’11: .315/.345/.521/.865, BABIP=.383, isoP=.206, AB=219, 2B=20, 3B=2, HR=7, BB=10 (4.3%), K=52 (22.1%), SB=5/10 (50%)
‘12: .278/.375/.444/.819, BABIP=.333, isoP=.166, AB=151, 2B=13, 3B=0, HR=4, BB=14 (7.6%), K=39 (21.1%), SB=10/13 (77%)
’14: .197/.306/.344/.650, BABIP=.234, isoP=.147, AB=61, 2B=4, 3B=1, HR=1, BB=7 (9.7%), K=14 (19.4%), SB=2/3 (67%)
PITCH:
'14: G=22, IP=23, K=26 (10.2/9), BB=5 (2/9), K/BB=5.2, H=26 (10.2/9), WHIP=1.35, ERA=1.57

VID: Post-Game Interview - March 2012 vs. Stetson Univ.: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTCVT4cf9bo


12.358 Henning, Jameson: SS, RHH, West. Illinois Univ., (6’4", 190) DOB=1993/06/08 (DDA=20.361) [; ; ]
Henning looks to me to have the body type to not grow off the SS position in the coming years. He entered college as a tall, skinny kid with not much power and strength in his frame and he's pretty much remained that guy during his first 3 years of college. I'd put him in the good field/some hit category. He's a very smart player who has turned himself into a hitter that's not just an automatic out at the plate mostly through sheer will power and tenacity. He could have a decent major league career as a backup infielder if he shows even just a mediocre bat. He just completed his redshirt sophomore season of college ball, so he'll have 2 more shots at the draft in 2015 and '16 if he doesn't sign with the Giants before the July 17th deadline. Henning couldn't speak to the Giants scout when he reached him via telephone at home a few minutes after the Giants drafted him last Saturday, but it wasn't because he was too choked up about finally achieving his boyhood dream of hearing his name called in the baseball draft. Nope, Henning couldn't talk because his jaw is currently wired shut. He joined the Northwoods Summer League as soon as he finished school at the end of May. In the first game of the season, during Jamesons 3rd at bat, he was hit by a pitch and broke his jaw - ending his time in the Northwoods League. After that bad break, he headed back home and finally got some good news about 1 hour into the 3rd day of the draft. From the local newspaper report, Henning was expecting to be drafted sometime between the 9th and 14th rounds and he seems eager to sign and get down to Scottsdale. He'll be able to take part in much of the on- and off-field activities in camp, but he likely won't be ready to play in a real game at full speed until the end of July at the earliest. This is his first experience with an injury that kept him from playing for a long stretch of time. Back in February of 2012, during the 9th game of his freshman season at Western Illinois, he suffered an injury that caused him to miss the entire rest of the 2012 college season. Henning and the university did successfully petition the NCAA to regain his freshman year of eligibility which he then completed in May of 2013. PG.com scouting report on Henning, after seeing him in a Showcase skills weekend back in May of 2011 when he was still a senior in HS:
"Jameson Henning is a 2011 MIF/3B with a 6-3 185 lb. frame from Janesville, WI who attends Janesville Craig HS. Good frame, long slender build, can add more strength. Spread stance, limited weight shift, stays inside the ball well, handles the barrel, some lift at times, mid field contact, should continue to improve with better shift through contact and added strength. 7.25 runner, loose arm action, projects improved arm strength, soft hands, fields cleanly, may end up at third base. Young player physically who should keep improving."
’12: .208/.240/.208/.448, BABIP=.312, isoP=.000, AB=24, 2B=0, 3B=0, HR=0, BB=0 (0%), K=8 (30.8%), SB=1/1 (100%)
‘13: .297/.328/.363/.691, BABIP=.351, isoP=.066, AB=182, 2B=7, 3B=1, HR=1, BB=6 (3%), K=33 (16.3%), SB=8/10 (80%)
’14: .310/.341/.386/.727, BABIP=.355, isoP=.076, AB=197, 2B=8, 3B=2, HR=1, BB=11 (5%), K=32 (14.5%), SB=12/16 (75%)
VID: On this page you'll find 3 vid clips from a Showcase weekend back in May 2011: http://www.perfectgame.org/Players/PlayerProfile.aspx?ID=259518#boxd0


13.388 Lacen, Luis: CF, RHH, Beltran BB Acad., Puerto Rico (6’3", 195) DOB=1996/10/13 (DDA=17.235) [; ; ]
UPDATE: Lacen signed for less than $100K (no bonus pool hit), and has made his pro debut for Scottsdale.
Ranked the #14 overall draft prospect in Puerto Rico by BA. At the 2013 Caribbean Top Prospect showcase weekend, held last November, Lacen ran a 6.64 second 60 and threw up to 86 mph on throws from the OF. Lacen's measureables remind me of the Giants 2011 Puerto Rican draftee, Christian Diaz. Let's hope he performs less like Diaz (released by the Giants back in February) and much more like the surprise of the Giants AZ Rookie League team last summer - Fargas. Here's PG.com's scouting report on Lacen from back in Nov. 2013 - after seeing him perform during the Caribbean Top Prospect Showcase held in Puerto Rico:
"Luis Lacen is a 2014 OF with a 6-4 194 lb. frame from San Juan, PR who attends Carlos Beltran Baseball Academy. Tall lanky build, athletic look, still growing into coordination. Very good straight ahead runner, 6.64 in the sixty. Loose long arm action with low elbow release, has raw arm strength but inconsistent in footwork and throwing mechanics. Right handed hitter, spread stance with long stride, long levers and long swing, creates good late bat speed and has power potential, tends to get bat started late in games. Has lots of raw tools and projection but is a year or two away from being able to use them in games."
No college commit.
VID: Beltran Academy workout - field + hit + run: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBG3foJhafE


14.418 Rivera, Kevin: 2B/SS, SWH (throws RH), Beltran BB Acad., Puerto Rico (5’11", 170) DOB=1996/06/12 (DDA=17.357) [; ; ]
UPDATE: Rivera signed for less than $100K (no bonus pool hit), and has made his pro debut for Scottsdale
Ranked the #9 overall draft prospect in Puerto Rico by BA. What I see from the video clips of Rivera is a kid with the range, quickness, hands and arm to stick at SS in the pros. He shows the fluid and athletic actions at SS, as a hitter and running the basepaths that you love to see in a young prospect. At the plate, he has a really nice quick RH stroke that is geared to hit line drives from gap-to-gap. His LH stroke is solid and promising, but he needs to eliminate the upper-cut and some of its length. Bottom line, this kid looks like a great value in the 14th round - showing advanced baseball smarts and fundamentals - and I think that he has a fairly good chance of being a mid-round success story if he can add enough strength to his slight frame in the next 4-6 years so that major league pitchers can't just overpower him at the plate. At the 2013 Caribbean Top Prospect showcase weekend, held last November, Rivera ran a 6.50 second 60 and threw up to 89 mph on throws from SS. Here are 2 comments made by a Perfect Game scout after seeing Rivera perform in the multi-day showcase:
"Kevin Rivera (SS) put on another display today along the infield. Rivera has good fluid actions and works through the ball well."
"Rivera (SS) showed off his glove during the game this afternoon. Rivera has solid actions at SS with good foot work and makes plays."
Finally, here's PG's scouting report on Rivera after seeing him perform in the World Showcase event in Florida during the beginning of January 2014:
"Kevin Rivera is a 2014 SS/2B with a 5-11 170 lb. frame from Barceloneta, PR who attends Carlos Beltran Baseball Academy. Medium athletic build, has some present strength. 6.81 runner, have seen him down to 6.50 in the past. Smooth defensive actions, plays with energy but good balance and body control, moves well laterally, works through balls in front of him well, good arm strength with carry, has the tools and athleticism to play all over the field. Switch hitter, better swing right handed at present. Open narrow stance right handed with an early stride into contact, good hand path to the ball with good extension out front, good bat speed with gap to gap power. More rotational left handed but still has some bat speed. Very good student."
Broward Comm. College (Florida) commit.
VID1: Live ABs + BP = June 2013 - Perfect Game Showcase in Minn.: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/67565098/v33396951
VID2: Beltran Academy workout - field + hit + run: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1RgluB4-8Y

This FanPost is reader-generated, and it does not necessarily reflect the views of McCovey Chronicles. If the author uses filler to achieve the minimum word requirement, a moderator may edit the FanPost for his or her own amusement.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join McCovey Chronicles

You must be a member of McCovey Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at McCovey Chronicles. You should read them.

Join McCovey Chronicles

You must be a member of McCovey Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at McCovey Chronicles. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker