Every boxscore I've seen for the Giants 1-0 win over the Phillies has Bastardo charged with an earned run. Isn't this wrong? Admittedly I didn't see the full video of the game, and it's not perfectly clear in the MLB condensed game (check at 10:41), but Belt seemingly wasn't within 40 feet of second base at the moment Pagan's ball hit Wigginton's glove.
While it's true you can't assume the double play, shouldn't the scorer still assume that because it's a tie game in extra innings, man on first and less than two out, the play is going to second base especially since Belt isn't stealing? Which is in turn to say that without the error, there would be a man on first and two outs, and Pagan doesn't score on Melky's single?
Rule 10.06(d) No run shall be earned when the scoring runner's advance has been aided by an error, a passed ball or defensive interference or obstruction, if in the official scorers judgment the run would not have scored without the aid of such misplay.
and... (f) Whenever a fielding error occurs, the pitcher shall be given the benefit of the doubt in determining to which bases any runners would have advanced had the fielding of the defensive team been errorless.
Helluva game, glad the Giants won, etc., but hate to see Bastardo get charge with an earned run where he probably doesn't deserve one. It could cost him money later.