FanPost

Fourth out


As we well know, the play that ended the sixth inning of today's Giants-Dodgers game, on which a run scored, was the result of a bad call, but more interestingly, it was that rarest of baseball events: a situation in which a fourth out would be possible and plausible.

The situation is described on the Wikipedia entry for fourth out. If Pablo Sandoval had, after tagging out the runner, thrown to first and beaten the batter-runner (or if the umpire had made the right call), then the run would not have counted. Although I have not seen the play in question, I assume that this would not be possible. Nonetheless, it is an interesting thought experiment.

This FanPost is reader-generated, and it does not necessarily reflect the views of McCovey Chronicles. If the author uses filler to achieve the minimum word requirement, a moderator may edit the FanPost for his or her own amusement.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join McCovey Chronicles

You must be a member of McCovey Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at McCovey Chronicles. You should read them.

Join McCovey Chronicles

You must be a member of McCovey Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at McCovey Chronicles. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker